Arapaho Language

The Arapaho language consists of five distinct dialects: Arapaho proper, Besawunena, Gros Ventre (also known as Atsina), Nawathinehena and Ha'anahawunena. Arapaho proper is still spoken in western Oklahoma and on the Wind River Reservation in Wyoming. Arapaho is a member of the Plains Algonquian branch of the Algic language family. Related languages include Cheyenne, Menominee, Myaamia and Shawnee.

Selected Language Information

Cowell, Andrew, and Moss, Alonzo, Sr. 2008. The Arapaho Language. University of Colorado Press.

Hale, Ken. 2001. The Arapaho Language. In The Green Book of Language Revitalization in Practice. Ken Hale and Leanne Hinton (eds.) San Diego, California: Academic Press. 283-286.

Picard, Marc. 1994. Principles and Methods in Historical Phonology: From Proto-Algonkian to Arapaho. Montreal and Kingston: McGillóQueens University Press.

Sample Archival Materials in the Native American Languages Collection


The Arapaho Project

Dictionary of Northern Arapaho

Language Learning Guide

Berkley Online Dictionary

Catalogue of Endangered Languages